Skip to content

If I

04/16/2011

If I were most brilliant, what then? Would I be so wrapped up in myself that I would be unaware of my many shortcomings? Would it be a bad thing to be unaware of my many shortcomings? I would most certainly think more highly of myself than I ought.

If I were most wealthy, what then? Would I be so enamored by my possessions that I would fail to see my true needs? Would my possessions come to own me rather than I them? I would most certainly think myself self-sufficient.

If I were most popular, what then? Would I be so arrogant that I would become my own idol? Would I see myself as my own god, as well as for others to look upon? I would most certainly be self-absorbed.

If I were most handsome and desirable, what then? Would my time be spent with many others in self-satisfaction to the ruin of their souls and mine? Would my desires override all logic and reason? I would most certainly move toward self-destruction.

If I were most articulate, what then? Would my words flow for my own ears to hear? Would I look down upon those of lesser elocution? I would most certainly think myself praiseworthy.

If I were most muscular, what then? Would I worship my creation and me as creator? Would every waking hour be consumed in admiration and refinement?  I would most certainly think myself a wonder to gaze upon.

If I were myself, what then? What then? Naked and cold this world was entered and from where comes hope of a dissimilar exit? Is it in the doings and accumulations during time on this orb? Is there some abstract value to be placed upon each head? Is success in a democratic vote, a measure to be obtained or the dreaded grade on a curve? I would certainly want to be my own judge.

To go through life and hang precariously close to the cliff of low self-esteem while trying to muster up the confidence to fulfill the opportunities that lay ahead is excruciating on a good day. Self-sufficiency is a concept that is far from being grasped.  Popularity is fleeting at best and at times a curse as true value is seldom realized. Outward appearances serve only flattery from the lips of the person to whom the eye belongs.  To struggle to grasp concepts and attach to them words that would convey some deep meaning is hardly fluency at its finest. A body being built beyond sufficient and efficient operation is time spent erecting a memorial to nothing.

What then has this world to offer with its lack of perpetuity? It has little to offer in the now much less of eternal value. The world made from nothing holds that exact value as the One who created everything is the only value that counts. Value in His love is the only value worth reaching for, whether it is with Him or in those that know Him. Relationship is the only object worthy of pursuit and that only when viewed within proper constraints. Pride, arrogance and self-sufficiency are dissuaders all from reaching out to court the highest opportunity of eternal significance. Humility and meekness are scoffed at, yet they are the only avenue of achievement. The paradigm requires the shift, demanded for success.

What if I were His, what then? What then? Would I care more about me than He? Would I care more about me than thee? Me would need to die daily, painful though it may be. He and thee must ascend in symmetry to the descent of me. It is the only exertion of energy that returns at a higher level than when it left. Is there any guarantee of success? I would most certainly fail from time to time, but find love in the striving. Contentment is the earnest for the eternal joy that will be obtained.

Matthew 16:25-27 (King James Version)

“For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for My sake shall find it. For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? Or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul? For the Son of Man shall come in the glory of His Father with His angels; and then He shall reward every man according to his works.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

